Members of Council

Dr David Tabrett, President

Dr David Tabrett.jpg

David is a University of Queensland graduate from 1989 and has practised in the Newcastle-Hunter region since 1990.

David founded the Newcastle Animal Emergency Centre in 2004, growing to a team of 125 staff offering 24/7 ER service. David has completed Membership of the College in Small Animal Medicine in 2000, and Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care in 2005. David is currently the President of the College.

David is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Master of Business Psychology, and currently enrolled in a Master of Business Law.

Dr Wendy Goodwin, Honorary Secretary

Wendy Goodwin Headshot (1)

Dr Wendy Goodwin graduated from the University of Queensland in 2004 and in 2013 was awarded a Doctorate of Philosophy by the University of Queensland for her research thesis 'Studies of Alfaxalone in Horses'.

Wendy attained Membership of the College in 2008 in Equine Medicine. She is passionate about veterinary anaesthesia and analgesia and in 2013 was awarded Membership in Veterinary Anaesthesia and Critical Care. Wendy has dedicated the majority of her professional career to pursuing excellence in this field; and in 2016 became a Fellow of the College in Veterinary Anaesthesia and Critical Care.

Wendy has served multiple roles for the College and the Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia Chapter. From 2019 to 2022, Wendy was the Science Week Program Convenor, since 2022 has been VAA Chapter President and was nominated to Council in 2023.

Dr Carolyn Guy, Honorary Treasurer


Dr Carolyn Guy is a 1996 graduate of Massey University and completed a post-graduate Diploma of Business Administration while in clinical practice before joining New Zealand’s agricultural ministry (then Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, and now named Ministry for Primary Industries). Over the years she has held a variety of roles across the Ministry including managing a team which coordinated New Zealand’s activities in the international standard setting bodies, OIE, IPPC and Codex; New Zealand’s relationship with Australia in the areas of food regulation and primary industries; negotiating SPS chapters of free trade agreements; representing New Zealand at the WTO SPS Committee; and a posting to Tokyo as Counsellor Primary Industries for Japan and Korea. She is now Director of Animal Health and Welfare.

Carolyn became a member of the College in Pharmacology in 2000, then in Epidemiology in 2001. She served on the Board of Examiners for nine years, including as Chief Examiner. She is also our Honorary Treasurer and Chair of the Finance & Risk Committee of the College.

Associate Professor Jennifer Carter, Chief Examiner

Jen Headshot

Jen is a graduate of Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine in St. Kitts and is a Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia (ACVAA). She is employed as an Associate Professor and the Director of Veterinary Education at the University of Melbourne. Jen joined the College Board of Examiners in 2016 and served as the Assistant Chief Examiner- Examinations during the 2021-2022 exam cycle. Jen has completed teaching and learning post-graduate certificate and degree work that sparked her interest in assessment and completed a Master of Clinical Education degree in 2019. She is involved in mentoring and teaching DVM students as well as providing pedagogical leadership and mentorship to her colleagues within her roles at the University of Melbourne and with the College. Although Jen is not actively in anaesthesia clinical practice these days, she enjoys remaining current and engaged and is a highly sought-after speaker for continuing professional development in anaesthesia and analgesia.

Dr Cathy Beck, Councillor

C Beck

Cathy graduated from the University of Sydney in 1992 and then spent 2 years working in mixed animal practice in Australia and the UK. Cathy returned to the University of Sydney in 1995 and completed a Mixed Animal Internship, gaining a Diploma of Veterinary Clinical Studies. It was during this time that Cathy discovered diagnostic imaging. This led to a Residency at the University of Melbourne with some time at The Ohio State University. Cathy obtained a Masters in Veterinary Clinical Studies, Membership and Fellowship of the ANZCVS in Radiology and worked as a Radiologist at the University of Melbourne for 25 years. Cathy is currently working in teleradiology and undertaking a PhD.

Cathy has been an active member of the College and Radiology Chapter for many years. Cathy has served as Vice President and President of the Radiology Chapter and on the Chapter Education and Examination subcommittee, examined both Membership and Fellowship on multiple occasions and was the Radiology Chapter’s CSW convener for 10 years. Cathy is passionate about robust and sustainable assessment and looks forward to being part of the College’s evolution of the examinations.

Dr Amy Lane, Councillor

Amy Lane photo.jpg

Dr Amy Lane graduated from the University of Sydney in 2000 and spent several years working in mixed practice in the Central West of NSW. She then relocated to Perth, WA, where she worked in small animal practice for a few more years before commencing an internship with Perth Veterinary Oncology. She undertook a residency training program through the ANZCVS and was awarded Membership in Small Animal Medicine in 2008 and her Fellowship in Veterinary Oncology in 2012. She has since relocated to Newcastle, NSW, and is currently taking a break from clinical practice to concentrate on her young family. She is a member of the Animal Care and Ethics Committee at the University of Newcastle, and looks forward to contributing to the significant work that the ANZCVS Council undertakes.

Professor Glenn Edwards, Councillor

20210804 Professor Glenn Edwards

Glenn graduated from the University of Melbourne in 1979, and worked for a number of years in general practice and with a commercial research organisation. In December 1989 he returned to the University of Melbourne as a senior surgical registrar, and in 1992 was appointed as Director of the Department of Veterinary Clinic and Hospital, In 1995 he was appointed as a senior lecturer, and then Associate Professor in the Department of Veterinary Science, until accepting the position of Professor of Veterinary Surgery at Charles sturt University in 2012.

Glenn joined the College in 1986, and has held a number of positions within the Surgery Chapter including President (1996/7 and 2011/12), Secretary (2009/10), and Membership examiner on 9 occasions from 1992-2005.

Glenn’s main area of interest is soft tissue surgery, and he has had an active career in research developing a variety of cardiovascular devices. He has co-authored a large number of papers in both veterinary and medical journals, and presented to numerous veterinary and biomaterial conferences both within Australia and internationally. He was awarded the ASAVA Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award in 2011, and was the recipient of the CSIRO Medal for Research Achievement in 2012. Glenn was also a content author and tutor for the Surgery Course for the Centre for Veterinary Education from 1996 to 2011, and received the TG Hungerford Award for Excellence in Post Graduate Education in 2006.

Glenn became Head of the School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences at Charles Sturt in 2016 until retiring from academia in 2018. With a strong desire to contribute more to the veterinary profession as a whole, Glenn became a member of the College Finance and Risk Committee, and more recently joined the College Council in 2021.