Ophthalmology Chapter Membership Membership is open to all members of the ANZCVS, and is encouraged for any veterinarian with an interest in ophthalmology. Current members consist of a mix of specialists, training residents, and general veterinary practitioners.

Members of the chapter receive discounted registration to Interim Meetings and are kept informed of happenings in the ophthalmology arena in Australia and internationally through circulation of the International Society of Ophthalmology newsletter, The Globe, as well as intermittent announcements from the chapter president and secretary. All members are encouraged to attend the Chapter's Scientific Meetings and Annual General Meetings.

Ophthalmology Chapter Scientific Meeting The Ophthalmology Chapter regularly holds a 3-day Scientific Meeting as part of ANZCVS Science Week each July, held on the Gold Coast in Queensland. An esteemed array of international and local speakers are arranged by a Science Week committee to provide a stimulating and educational meeting, relevant to specialists and general practitioners.  

The Chapter also arranges Interim Meetings in varying locations around Australia, between ANZCVS Science Week approximately every 2 years.

Ophthalmology Chapter Annual General Meeting The Chapter AGM is held at the ANZCVS Science Week Meeting most years. Meeting minutes are accessible to ANZCVS members.

Ophthalmology Chapter Affiliations The chapter is affiliated with the International Society of Veterinary Ophthalmology and has a representative on the editorial board of Veterinary Ophthalmology, the official journal of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists.


1. Science Week Committee functions to organise speakers and the scientific program for Chapter Scientific Meetings held at Science Week. The current committee is: Drs Kate Hindley and Jessica Neville.

2. Chapter Examination Committee functions to oversee education, training and examination of fellowship candidates, and appoint examiners. There is no membership examination process for Veterinary Ophthalmology. The current CEC committee are: Dr Kelly Caruso, Dr Vicki Liddle,  Dr Martyn King, and Dr Simon Hurn.

Latest News